SatyaVeda: All about the Veda

All Rights Reserved: Satya Sarada Kandula

Veda Vismarana – Brahmahatya Patakam

My Veda Guru said that it is considered a brahmahatyA pAtakam to forget the Vedas before you teach it to another.

Therefore, at least once in a mAsa paksha (krishna paksha and sukla paksha), the entire Veda that you have learnt must be chanted! Her guru used to chant a section each day so that the entire Rg vEda was completed in each fortnight.

My cousin offered this explanation. Brahma is Knowledge. A person who forgets specialized knowledge before he teaches it to another has in a sense “killed or destroyed” the knowledge that belongs to humanity. It is mandatory that knowledge is passed on to the right candidate and not hoarded.

The practice of repetitive chanting is called avismaraNa.

I am trying to teach all I learn through the internet as soon as I get it.. so that I am not guilty of this crime. But I keep falling behind with writing, she teaches so fast. So at the right time, when she permits it I must take a student.

Authorship and Copyright Notice : All Rights Reserved : Satya Sarada Kandula


Written by 1 2 Next Change!

April 18, 2010 at 8:29 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great comprehension…
    वेद विस्मरण: ब्रह्म हत्यापातकं॥

    I wish I could be your first student

    अयिनवोलु प्रणव

    May 12, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    • You are welcome… I don’t know about being first.. but you can always try to be best :D…

      satyask

      May 12, 2010 at 1:53 pm


Comments are closed.

